- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 12, 2016

MADISON, Wis. (AP) - Gov. Scott Walker has asked President Barack Obama for a federal disaster declaration for 12 western Wisconsin counties hit by torrential rains and flash flooding in September.

Walker says the flooding caused more than $11 million in damage to roads and public infrastructure. A presidential disaster declaration would pave the way for federal assistance to local governments.

Walker requested federal aid for the counties of Adams, Chippewa, Clark, Crawford, Eau Claire, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon.

Any aid would not help private businesses or homeowners affected by the flooding. Walker says he’s working with state and federal agencies to see what help might be available for them.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide