- Associated Press - Thursday, October 13, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The fields are set for two special elections to fill vacancies in the Mississippi House of Representatives.

The state Board of Elections Thursday certified Travis Mac Haynes, Donnie Scoggin and Ron Swindall as candidates in Jones County’s District 89. Candidates in District 106, including parts of Pearl River and Lamar counties, are John Glen Corley, Larry D. Davis, Greg Holcomb, Ben Winston and Daniel Wise.

Rep. Herb Frierson, R-Poplarville, resigned June 30 from District 106 to become state Revenue Commissioner, while Rep. Bobby Shows, R-Ellisville, retired July 1 from District 89.

Elections are Nov. 8, coinciding with the presidential election. Runoffs, if needed, will be Nov. 29.

Candidates in special elections run without party labels, but often announce their party affiliations.

Winners will fill three years of a four-year term.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide