- Associated Press - Saturday, October 15, 2016

FIFA has left the allocation of berths for the Women’s World Cup unchanged, meaning Europe will get one extra berth when the tournament shifts to France in 2019 from Canada last year.

The governing body said Friday that Europe gets eight slots at the 24-nation tournament in addition to the host nation. Asia has five, Africa three and Oceania one. North and Central America and the Caribbean have three and South America two.

The final berth goes to the winner of a playoff between the fourth-place team from CONCACAF and the third-place nation from South America.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide