- Associated Press - Saturday, October 15, 2016

LAWRENCE, Kan. (AP) - A student, faculty member and a theater group have received the University of Kansas’ award honoring contributions toward advancing equity and inclusion at the university.

Nate Thomas, vice provost for diversity and equity, announced the university’s Diversity Leadership Awards on Thursday.

The student recipient was Jyleesa Hampton. The graduate student was a member of the two-member team last year that became the first all African-American female team to represent Kansas at the National Debate Tournament.

The Kansas City Star reports that (https://j.mp/2eoM2bm ) the faculty winner was Shawn Alexander, an associate professor of African and African-American studies and director of the Langston Hughes Center at the university. The group award went to the KU Interactive Theatre Troupe, which is made up of students.


Information from: Lawrence (Kan.) Journal-World, https://www.ljworld.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide