- Associated Press - Tuesday, October 18, 2016

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Twenty-eight Alabama counties have been placed under a drought emergency.

The Alabama Drought Declaration issued Tuesday comes after conditions across the stare continue to degrade due to little rainfall and above normal temperatures.

The counties now under emergency status are:

Region 1: Colbert, DeKalb, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall and Morgan

Region 3: Blount, Cherokee, Cullman, Etowah, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Walker and Winston

Region 4: Calhoun, Chambers, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Randolph, Talladega and Tallapoosa

Office of Water Resources’ Water Management Unit manager Tom Littlepage says falling reservoir and groundwater levels also have indicated drought conditions have become more severe, particularly in north, east and central Alabama.

Water managers are urged to monitor water sources and implement conservation measures as needed.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide