- Associated Press - Sunday, October 2, 2016

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Administration has denied an appeal from Kansas officials for a federal disaster declaration for several counties affected by May storms.

FEMA says the state’s original request for a federal declaration for the public assistance grants was denied. Several counties were included in that request after they were hit by severe weather that included thunderstorms, tornadoes and flooding during the last week of May.

The state appealed FEMA’s initial decision on Aug. 31. FEMA has denied the appeal, reaffirming its original findings that the damage caused by the storms did not warrant a major disaster declaration, which would have granted broader authority for federal agencies to help the region recover.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide