- Associated Press - Sunday, October 2, 2016

ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) - Four more counties in upstate New York have been designated as natural disaster areas by the federal government due to the drought.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo says Jefferson, Lewis, Herkimer, and St. Lawrence counties in northern New York were added due to crop losses. The disaster declaration allows farmers to apply for emergency loans and other assistance.

By August, the federal government had declared 15 New York counties as primary natural disaster areas and an additional nine counties as contiguous disaster counties.

The governor says 51 of the state’s 62 counties have been severely impacted by the dry conditions that have persisted since the summer.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide