- Associated Press - Friday, October 21, 2016

TRENTON, N.J. (AP) - Officials have issued a drought warning for 14 of New Jersey’s 21 counties due to a lack of rainfall and dwindling water-supply conditions.

Environmental Commissioner Bob Martin on Friday signed the order for Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren counties.

The designation enables the state to more closely manage reservoir systems. It also elevates the need for residents and businesses in those counties to reduce their water use.

A drought watch calling for voluntary water conservation remains in effect for Burlington, Camden, Gloucester and Salem counties.

Atlantic, Cape May and Cumberland counties are not under any watch or warning because they have received near or above-normal rainfall over the past several months.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide