- Associated Press - Friday, October 21, 2016

WICHITA, Kan. (AP) - President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for 11 Kansas counties hit hard by last month’s severe storms and flooding.

The declaration means federal funding is now available for state and eligible local government and some nonprofit organizations.

The White House said in a news release that the eligible counties are Cheyenne, Cowley, Ellis, Graham, Greenwood, Kingman, Norton, Rooks, Russell, Sedgwick and Sumner.

The storms and flooding occurred from Sept. 2-12.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide