- Associated Press - Saturday, October 22, 2016

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - The Iowa governor’s office has asked the White House to issue a presidential disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties that suffered damage from severe storms and flooding in late September.

The office of Gov. Terry Branstad said Friday that the counties are Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Howard, Linn, Mitchell, Winneshiek and Wright. Those counties sustained damage from storms Sept. 21-23.

The presidential declaration would provide federal help under the Public Assistance Program. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities and may include debris removal.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide