- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 26, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) - Ohio’s capital city has four new Hall of Fame members, including an Apollo 7 crew member and the city’s first black supermarket owner.

The Columbus Dispatch reports (https://bit.ly/2eEJsub ) Columbus Mayor Andrew Ginther and Councilwoman Priscilla Tyson announced on Monday that Carl Brown Sr., Donn Eisele, Lynn Greer and George Schmidt are this year’s inductees.

Brown opened the Carl L. Brown IGA Foodliner in 1969.

Eisele, a West High School graduate, was an Apollo 7 crew member who orbited Earth 163 times and practiced rendezvous procedures that were key to the moon landing.

Greer was an activist who fought for equal rights for the gay and lesbian community, as well as people living with HIV or AIDS.

Schmidt founded the popular German eatery Schmidt’s Sausage House und Restaurant in 1967.


Information from: The Columbus Dispatch, https://www.dispatch.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide