- The Washington Times - Thursday, September 15, 2016

The man with the second-most all-purpose yards in the history of the NFL, 23,330 in total, is up for a spot in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Brain Mitchell, who played for the Washington Redskins 10 seasons, received the nomination. The special team specialist led the NFL in punt return yards in 1991, with 600, and punt return touchdowns in 1991, 1994 and 1995. Mitchell also led the NFL in all-purpose yards in 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1998. Mitchell wasn’t quite as efficient as a running back, but he did manage to score 16 total touchdowns, 12 as a Redskin.

Offensive tackle Joe Jacoby, a 2015 Hall of Fame finalist, is again up for nomination. The three-time Super Bowl winner signed as a free agent with the Redskins in 1981 and played the entirety of his 13 seasons in Washington.

He’s joined by his former teammate and three-time Pro Bowler Jim Lachey, who joined the Redskins in 1989 and played for Washington until 1995. Jacoby and Lachey were apart of the famous “Hogs” of the 1980s and early 1990s.

Of the 13 Redskin “Hogs,” only guard Russ Grimm has received the Hall of Fame nod.

Two other players with short tenures in Washington, quarterback Donovan McNabb and defensive end Jason Taylor, are also up for nomination. As a member of the Redskins in the 2010 season, McNabb played in 13 games, completing 58 percent of his passes for 3,377 yards, 14 touchdowns and a career-high 15 interceptions. After a 5-8 season, McNabb was traded to the Minnesota Vikings for a sixth-round pick in 2012. The Redskins used that sixth-round pick pick to select Alfred Morris.

Taylor appeared in 13 games for the Redskins in the 2008 season, recording 3.5 sacks and forcing one fumble.

Richie Petitbon, Washington’s defensive coordinator from 1981 to 1992 and head coach in 1993, is one of 11 coaches to receive a Hall of Fame nomination. Petitbon’s defensive units ranked in the top five in total yards allowed three times and the top ten in points allowed five times during his tenure.

Additional nominees include wide receiver Hines Ward, running back LaDainian Tomlinson, wide receiver Chad Johnson running back Shaun Alexander and safety Brian Dawkins. This is the first year all are eligible (as are McNabb and Taylor). Running back Terrell Davis, wide receiver Terrell Owens, quarterback Kurt Warner and kicker Morten Anderson are nominated as well, and all were Hall of Fame finalists last year. 

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide