- Associated Press - Thursday, September 29, 2016

ATLANTA (AP) - Federal authorities say Georgia farmers can apply for low-interest emergency loans to help cover some of their losses caused by a recent drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced Thursday that nine of state’s counties were designated as primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by extreme drought conditions earlier this month. Those counties include Baldwin, Houston, Taliaferro, Bibb, Jones, Twiggs, Hancock, Peach and Wilkinson.

Farmers in 17 Georgia counties are also allowed to apply for loans because they are contiguous with the declared disaster area. Those counties include Bleckley, Jasper, Monroe, Taylor, Crawford, Johnson, Oglethorpe, Warren, Dooly, Laurens, Pulaski, Washington, Glascock, Macon, Putnam, Wilkes and Greene.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide