- Associated Press - Tuesday, August 1, 2017

DEARBORN, Mich. (AP) - A national literary competition launched more than a decade ago to honor books by and about Arab Americans has announced its 2017 winners.

The Arab American Book Awards for the second time has honored author Rabih Alameddine in the fiction category. This year he has won for “The Angel of History,” two years after receiving the award for “An Unnecessary Woman.”

Hayan Charara nabs two awards this year: The poetry award for “Something Sinister” and honorable mention in the children/young adult category for “The Three Lucys.”

This year’s non-fiction winner goes to Steven Salaita for “Inter/Nationalism: Decolonizing Native America and Palestine.”

The ceremony is set for Oct. 7 at the Arab American National Museum in the Detroit suburb of Dearborn. The museum presents the awards.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide