- Associated Press - Saturday, August 26, 2017

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) - Gov. Sam Brownback has signed an emergency disaster declaration in response to strong storms that have hit the state this month.

The declaration covers thunderstorms, hail and flooding that hit Kansas beginning Aug. 3.

Counties included in the declaration include Barber, Douglas, Franklin, Greenwood, Johnson, Miami, Seward, and Trego. Additional counties may be added after damage assessments are completed.

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management is working with county emergency managers to gather more damage information to determine if federal disaster assistance can be sought.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide