- Associated Press - Monday, August 28, 2017

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Officials say President Donald Trump has issued a presidential disaster declaration for seven Iowa counties hit by severe weather and flooding July 19-23.

The counties are Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette and Mitchell.

The declaration will provide federal funding under the Public Assistance Program, which may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

Assessments in the seven counties showed an estimated $7 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program.

Gov. Kim Reynolds also received notification Sunday that the disaster declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation for the entire state.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide