- Associated Press - Thursday, December 14, 2017

FLORENCE, Ala. (AP) - Texas A&M; University-Commerce quarterback Luis Perez has won the Harlon Hill Trophy as Division II’s player of the year.

Perez has led his team into Saturday’s national championship game against West Florida with a 13-1 record. The senior from Chula Vista, California, received 198 total points in voting by Division II sports information directors released Thursday.

Gannon running back Marc Jones was second with 135 points while Slippery Rock defensive lineman Marcus Martin received 96 points for third place. It’s the highest finish by a defensive lineman in the award’s 32-year history.

Perez is trying to become the sixth Harlon Hill winner to follow up the award with a national title in the same season. He leads the nation with 4,678 passing yards and 44 touchdowns while completing more than 70 percent of his attempts.


For more AP college football coverage: www.collegefootball.ap.org and www.twitter.com/AP_Top25

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide