- Associated Press - Friday, February 10, 2017

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Board of Education has removed the Blytheville School District and 10 individual schools from its academic-distress list after they made gains in their students’ performance.

The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette reported (https://bit.ly/2kbCpPT ) the district and schools were removed from the list Thursday. In addition to the Blytheville district, the individual schools taken off the list are: Little Rock Fair, Little Rock McClellan, Blytheville-New Tech High, Belair Middle and Pine Bluff High schools in Pine Bluff, Dermott High, Watson Chapel High, Mineral Springs High, Jacksonville Middle, and Little Rock Preparatory Elementary, which is an open-enrollment charter school.

Schools can be taken off the list when 49.5 percent or more of the student body scores at proficient or advanced levels on math and literacy scores over a three-year period. If schools don’t show improvement, the state can take them over.


Information from: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, https://www.arkansasonline.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide