- Associated Press - Saturday, February 11, 2017

PYEONGCHANG, South Korea (AP) - Olympic silver medalist Sven Kramer won the 10,000-meter title at the world single distance speedskating championships on the 2018 Olympic track on Saturday.

The Dutchman, who also won gold in the 5,000 at Sochi, clocked 12 minutes, 38.89 seconds to finish 5.06 seconds ahead of compatriot Jorrit Bergsma. Patrick Beckert of Germany was third in 12:52.76.

Kjeld Nuis of the Netherlands won the 1,000 in 1:08.26, 0.28 ahead of Vincent De Haitre of Canada. Another Dutch racer, Kai Verbij, was third in 1:08.78.

Heather Bergsma of the United States claimed the women’s 1,000 in 1:13.94. Japan’s Nao Kodaira was second, 0.49 back, followed by Jorien ter Mors of the Netherlands in 1:14.66.

Martina Sablikova of the Czech Republic won the 5,000 in 6:52.38, 1.55 ahead of Germany’s Claudia Pechstein.

Ivanie Blondin of Canada was third in 6:57.14.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide