By Associated Press - Wednesday, January 11, 2017

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The Mississippi House voted 102-13 Wednesday to pass a bill that would set rules about how candidates statewide can spend campaign contributions. The measure seeks to ban spending on personal use and prohibit candidates from taking large sums of money when they close campaign committees. A yes vote was to approve the bill, while a no vote opposed that action. Voting yes were 70 Republicans and 32 Democrats. Voting no were 10 Democrats and three Republicans. One Democrat voted present, while five Democrats and one Republican did not vote.


Republicans voting yes (70):

Aguirre, Tupelo; Arnold, Booneville; Baker, Brandon; Barker, Hattiesburg; Barnett, Waynesboro; Barton, Moss Point; Beckett, Bruce; D. Bell, Fulton; Bennett, Long Beach; Bomgar, Madison;

Bounds, Philadelphia; Boyd, Mantachie; Brown, Nettleton; Busby, Pascagoula; Byrd, Petal; Carpenter, Burnsville; Chism, Columbus; Corley, Lumberton; Crawford, Pass Christian; Criswell, Olive Branch;

Currie, Brookhaven; DeLano, Biloxi; Denny, Jackson; Eubanks, Walls; Eure, Biloxi; Formby, Picayune; Foster, Hernando; Gipson, Braxton; Guice, Ocean Springs; Gunn, Clinton;

Hale, Nesbit; Haney, Gulfport; Henley, Southaven; Hood, Ackerman; Hopkins, Southaven; Horne, Meridian; M. Huddleston, Pontotoc; C. Johnson, Hattiesburg; Kinkade, Byhalia; Lamar, Senatobia;

Mangold, Brookhaven; Massengill, Hickory Flat; McLeod, Lucedale; McNeal, Leakesville; Mettetal, Sardis; Mims, McComb; Monsour, Vicksburg; Morgan, Morgantown; Oliver, Winona; Patterson, Biloxi;

Pigott, Tylertown; Powell, Brandon; Read, Gautier; Roberson, Starkville; M. Rogers, New Albany; R. Rogers, Pearl; Sanford, Collins; Scoggin, Ellisville; Smith, Columbus; Snowden, Meridian;

Staples; Laurel; Steverson, Ripley; Touchstone, Hattiesburg; Tullos, Raleigh; Turner, Baldwyn; Weathersby, Florence; White, West; Willis, Diamondhead; Wilson, Madison; Zuber, Ocean Springs.


Democrat voting yes (32):

Anderson, Escatawpa; Bain, Corinth; Baria, Bay St. Louis; Williams-Barnes, Gulfport; Calhoun, Jackson; Clarke, Jackson; Cockerham, Magnolia; Dixon, Raymond; Dortch, Raymond; Ellis, Starkville;

B. Evans, Monticello; M. Evans, Preston; Faulkner, Holly Springs; D. Gibbs, Jackson; K. Gibbs, West Point; Holland, Plantersville; Horan, Grenada; R. Huddleston, Sumner; Hudson, Shelby; Hughes, Oxford;

Jackson, Como; R. Johnson, Natchez; Karriem, Columbus; Mickens, Brooksville; Middleton, Port Gibson; Miles, Forest; Paden, Clarksdale; Reynolds, Charleston; Straughter, Belzoni; Sullivan, Okolona;

Sykes, Jackson; Watson, Hattiesburg.


Republicans voting no (3):

Moore, Brandon; Rushing, Decatur; Shirley, Quitman.


Democrats voting no (10):

Bailey, Greenville; Banks, Jackson; C. Bell, Jackson; Burnett, Tunica; Denton, Vicksburg; Perkins, Greenwood; Scott, Laurel; Thomas, Indianola; Walker, Carthage; Wooten, Jackson.


Democrats voting present (1):

Young, Meridian.


Republican not voting (1):

Ladner, Poplarville.


Democrats not voting (5):

Blackmon, Canton; Clark, Pickens; Hines, Greenville; Holloway, Hazlehurst; Myers, McComb.

Copyright © 2023 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide