- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 17, 2017

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - There will be new faces leading North Carolina Senate committees for the coming session as veteran Republican members have retired or moved on to other positions.

Sens. Andrew Brock of Mocksville and Tommy Tucker of Waxhaw have joined Sen. Jerry Tillman of Randleman as Finance Committee chairmen. Brock and Tucker succeed the retired Bob Rucho and Sen. Bill Rabon of Southport, who was previously announced as the Rules Committee chairman. Rabon succeeds ex-Sen. Tom Apodaca of Hendersonville.

There are new Transportation Committee chairmen in Sens. Jim Davis of Franklin and Tom McInnis of Rockingham. And Sen. Trudy Wade of Greensboro has joined two other senators to lead the Commerce Committee.

The General Assembly met one day last week to kick off the session and will reconvene Jan. 25.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide