- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 12, 2017

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) - President Donald Trump has approved a disaster declaration for parts of North Dakota hit by spring flooding.

Trump on Wednesday ordered federal aid to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in 10 counties and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Reservation.

Gov. Doug Burgum says the declaration triggers federal assistance of about $3.25 million to cover eligible costs in the affected communities. That’s based on a preliminary assessment from the Federal Emergency Management Agency. FEMA will conduct a more thorough inspection to document and reimburse actual costs.

The grants are funded on a cost-sharing basis of 75 percent federal, 10 percent state and 15 percent local.

The affected areas include Benson, Bottineau, Cavalier, McHenry, Pembina, Pierce, Renville, Rolette, Towner and Walsh counties as well as the Turtle Mountain reservation.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide