- Associated Press - Saturday, July 15, 2017

POCOLA, Okla. (AP) - Television station KTUL in Tulsa and radio station KGOU in Norman won top honors Saturday in the Arkansas-Oklahoma Associated Press Broadcasters contest for work in 2016.

Fourteen broadcast organizations submitted 232 entries in the contest, which featured news, sports and weather stories from the calendar year.

The Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,400 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States.

The winners in the 2016 Arkansas-Oklahoma Associated Press Broadcasters contest:



Spot News_1, Jacob McCleland, KGOU-FM, Norman, “Holtzclaw Sentencing Difficult for Victims, but Offers Some Closure”; 2, Emily Wendler, KOSU-FM, Stillwater, “Students Chant ‘Save Our Schools’ During Protest March to Capitol.”

Best Feature Reporting_1, Allison Herrera, KOSU-FM, Stillwater, “Stereotypes Fuel Native Sketch Group”; 2, Jacob McCleland and Brian Hardzinski, KGOU-FM, Norman, “Poisonous Prey: Hunters Target Rattlesnakes in Oklahoma Hills.”

Enterprise/Investigative Reporting_1, Allison Herrera, KOSU-FM, Stillwater, “Invisible Nations: Oklahoma Freedmen”; 2, Sarah Whites-Koditschek, KUAR-FM, Little Rock, “Arkansas Schools hire Untrained Teachers as People lose Interest in The Profession.”

Best Weather Coverage_1, Jacob McCleland, KGOU-FM, Norman, “Weather Prediction Technology Improves, but Communication is ‘More Complicated’.”

Best Government Reporting_1, KGOU and KOSU Staff, KGOU-FM, Norman, “Oklahoma Engaged”; 2, Rachel Hubbard, KOSU-FM, Stillwater, “Oklahoma Governor Faces Tough Decision on ‘Sweeping’ Anti-Abortion Bill.”

Best Sports Reporting_1, Brad Haworth, KTLO-FM, Mountain Home, “Athletic Trainer Leaving Mountain Home”; 2, Matt Sharp, KTLO-FM, Mountain Home, “Hayden Padgett Memorial Press Box gets lit.”

Best Play-By-Play_1, Brad Haworth, KTLO-FM, Mountain Home, “Class 6A State Baseball Championship.”

Best Use of Sound_1, Jacob McCleland and Brian Hardzinski, KGOU-FM, Norman, “Poisonous Prey: Hunters Target Rattlesnakes in Oklahoma Hills”; 2, Kate Carlton Greer, KGOU-FM, Norman, “Prison Program Rehabilitates Dogs, Provides ‘Something Positive in My Life’ for Inmates.”

Best Reporter Portfolio_1, Emily Wendler, KOSU-FM, Stillwater; 2, Jacob McCleland, KGOU-FM, Norman.

Best Newscast_1, Paul Joseph, KECO-FM, Elk City.

Sweepstakes_1, KGOU-FM.



Best Spot News_1, KJRH-TV, Tulsa, “30 Seconds of Terror: Pawnee Earthquake”; 2, Meghan Kee and 40/29 Staff, KHBS/KHOG-TV, Rogers, “Farmington Gas Fire.”

Best Feature Reporting_1, Burt Mummolo and Bryan Clemmer, KTUL-TV, Tulsa, “Len’s Journey”; 2, Phil Cross, KOKH-TV, Oklahoma City, “Mission of Mercy.”

Best Special Program_1, KTHV-TV, Little Rock, “Tackling Traditions”; 2, KATV-TV, Little Rock, “Year Four Wanting More.”

Enterprise_1, Maureen Wurtz and Dre Dabars, KTUL-TV, Tulsa, “Homeless Sex Offenders Living in Tulsa“; 2, Janelle Lilley and Staff, KATV-TV, Little Rock, “Baking Soda Mistaken for Cocaine.”

Investigative Reporting_1, Maureen Wurtz and Andrejs Dabars, KTUL-TV, Tulsa, “I Have a Number”; 2, Janna Clark and David Vandever, KOKI-TV, Tulsa, “Abuse Inside VA Nursing Home.”

General News Reporting_1, Burt Mummolo and Bryan Clemmer, KTUL-TV, Tulsa, “Farewell to Boomer”; 2, Charles Ely and Edd Beran, KTUL-TV, Tulsa, “Picher Final Survivors.”

Best Weather Coverage_1, KOKH-TV, Oklahoma City, “Fox 25 Storm Chaser Gets a Little too close”; 2, KOKH-TV, Oklahoma City, “Tornado Forms Live on Air.”

Best Election/Political Coverage_1, Patrick Clark and Staff, KHBS/KHOG-TV, Rogers, “Election Night”; 2, KATV-TV, Little Rock, “Your Voice. Your Future.”

Best Sportscast_1, Nathan Thompson and David Vandever, KOKI-TV, Tulsa; 2, KXII-TV, Sherman.

Best Video Editing_1, Andrejs Dabars, KTUL-TV, Tulsa, “”Either I Live in Fear or I Edit”“; 2, Jason Anderson, KOCO-TV, Oklahoma City.

Best Website_1, KTHV-TV, Little Rock; 2, Adam Roberts, KHBS/KHOG-TV, Rogers.

General News Photography_1, Colleen Wilson, KOKH-TV, Oklahoma City, “There’s Something Wrong with Opie”; 2, Colleen Wilson, KOKH-TV, Oklahoma City, “Minco Mystery.”

Best Feature Photography_1, John Guthery and Cori Duke, KJRH-TV, Tulsa, “Snake Bite”; 2, Colleen Wilson, KOKH-TV, Oklahoma City, “Showmen’s Rest.”

Best Spot News Photography_1, Bryan Clemmer, KTUL-TV, Tulsa, “Zink Ranch Fire.”

Best Reporter Portfolio_1, Maureen Wurtz, KTUL-TV, Tulsa; 2, Burt Mummolo, KTUL-TV, Tulsa.

Best Photographer Portfolio_1, John Guthery, KJRH-TV, Tulsa; 2, Andrejs Dabars, KTUL-TV, Tulsa.

Best Early Newscast_1, April Owens and Staff, KOKI-TV, Tulsa, “FOX23 News This Morning”; 2, KOKH-TV, Oklahoma City, “Fox 25 Morning News, 6 a.m., 11/15/16.”

Best Evening Newscast- 1, Rebecca Gaylord and KOCO Staff, KOCO-TV, Oklahoma City; 2, Patrick Meredith and Staff, KATV-TV, Little Rock.

Best News Anchor/Anchor Team- 1, Maureen Kane and Dan Thomas, KXII-TV, Sherman; 2, KTHV-TV, Little Rock.

Best Solo Journalist- 1, Will DuPree, KJRH-TV, Tulsa, “Claremore Teachers Invent a Swing for Success”; 2, Brett Rains, KHBS/KHOG-TV, Rogers.

Sweepstakes- 1, KTUL-TV, Tulsa.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide