- The Washington Times - Thursday, July 6, 2017

The DC Sports Hall of Fame will induct nine new members in a pre-game ceremony before the Washington Nationals take on the Atlanta Braves Sunday afternoon. 

Headlining the list of inductees are five-time Olympic gold medalist Katie Ledecky and Paul Tagliabue, the commissioner of the NFL from 1989-2006. Other notable members of the 2017 class include former University of Maryland men’s basketball standouts Juan Dixon and Tom McMillen, current Maryland women’s basketball coach Brenda Frese, and Mike Nelms, who won Super XVII with the Redskins in 1983.

Rounding out the list are three broadcasters: local television sportscaster Glenn Harris, former Washington Post columnist Tony Kornheiser, and retired Capitals play-by-play announcer Ron Weber.

The induction ceremony will take place at Nationals Park, with the Nationals-Braves game scheduled to begin at 1:35 p.m.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide