- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 27, 2017

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - For the first time, North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper has allowed a bill to become law without his signature.

Legislation presented to him earlier this month increased the fee that companies could charge someone who is excessively late on their regular installment payment for something he or she has purchased.

Cooper had until Monday to sign the bill or veto it. Since he did neither, the legislation is now law.

The previous law had limited the default charge to no more than 5 percent of the installment payment or $6, whichever was less. Now any fee incurred would be a flat $15.

The governor has already vetoed five pieces of legislation, including the two-year state budget on Tuesday.


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide