- Associated Press - Thursday, June 29, 2017

HARRISBURG, Pa. (AP) - A new Pennsylvania law lets authorities factor in the age of the victims and the degree of harm when filing charges in child endangerment cases.

Gov. Tom Wolf signed the bill Thursday to increase penalties when victims are 5 years old or younger.

It also directs judges to consider ordering counseling for those convicted of child endangerment. The law takes effect in 60 days.

It was prompted by the 2010 death of 10-month-old Heath Ryder, who suffered brain and neck injuries after being shaken and thrown. Charges were filed against a 9-year-old girl and the adult baby sitter was sentenced to six to 23 months in jail after pleading no contest to child endangerment.

Authorities say the sitter waited more than an hour to call for help after realizing Heath wasn’t breathing properly.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More

Click to Hide