- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 6, 2017

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Voters in many Mississippi cities are choosing mayors to serve the next four years.

One hard-fought contest is in Hattiesburg, where Democrat Johnny DuPree seeks a fifth term. He faces two independent candidates in Tuesday’s election - Toby Barker, who serves in the state House as a Republican; and Shawn O’Hara, who has run for dozens of offices.

Jackson will get a new mayor because Chokwe Antar Lumumba defeated incumbent Tony Yarber last month in the Democratic primary. Lumumba has raised more campaign cash than Republican Jason Wells, independent Jaclyn Mask and Libertarian Corinthian Sanders.

In Biloxi, first-term Republican Mayor Andrew “FoFo” Gilich is challenged by Democrat Sugar Stallings.

In Bay St. Louis, Democrat Mike Favre defeated incumbent Les Fillingame in last month’s primary runoff. Favre faces Republican Jeff Harding.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide