- Associated Press - Saturday, March 11, 2017

HERSHEY, Pa. (AP) - Nerves took over, causing Gavin Teasdale’s left hand to shake slightly. Soon however, he calmed down, made a fist and pumped it in victory.

Not for himself though.

Teasdale was watching from matside as his future Iowa Hawkeye teammate Max Murin won his second PIAA Championship in the most grueling Class AA bout inside Giant Center on Saturday.

Murin, a 138-pounder from Central Cambria, grinded through four overtime periods to outlast Reynolds’ Cole Matthews for his second championship in three seasons. Murin pinned three opponents en route to the finale and was named Most Outstanding Wrestler.

“It feels unreal,” Murin said. “I’ve been waiting for this day for the last 365 days. When I lost at states last year, I wrote on a piece of paper - 2017 State Champ - and taped it to my wall. I looked at it every day when I woke up and it definitely helped me.”

So did Teasdale. The two have been best friends and workout partners with the Young Guns Wrestling Club and will continue their friendship in Iowa City, where they’ll add firepower to the traditional wrestling power.

Teasdale brought it all weekend as he hammered his way to his third PIAA Class AA title in as many tries. He scored bonus points in every match and pushed his PIAA record to 12-0 with a 13-5 win in the 126-pound finals over Bermudian Springs’ Austin Clabaugh.

“They all stand out in their different ways,” Teasdale said. “I feel like I separated myself even more this year. From freshman year, I had real close matches in the state tournament. Sophomore year, got a little distance and this year I’ve gotten even further, so improvements every year.”

Three others maintained their hold atop their respective divisions.

Huntingdon’s Jacob Oliver (170 pounds), Montoursville’s Gavin Hoffman (195) and Harrisburg Bishop McDevitt’s Cole Nye (220) repeated while Athens Area’s Brian Courtney (132) won his second-straight title after moving up from 126 pounds where he won last season.

“I think it’s definitely harder defending it because a lot more kids are coming at you,” Hoffman said. “Last year, kids knew me but I didn’t have that state title. This year, definitely a lot more pressure but it’s a sigh of relief to get my second.”

Hoffman pulled away from Bishop McCort’s Anthony Walters for an 8-4 win before Nye slipped around Bishop McCort’s Josiah Jones for a go-ahead takedown with 11 seconds left to win 4-3.

Oliver handled Susquenita’s Dalton Group 9-2 and Courtney took control of a 3-3 bout late in the second period and pinned Southmoreland’s Tyler Griffiths in 3:19.

Reynolds’ Beau Bayless (106), Southern Columbia’s Jaret Lane (113), Brookville’s Gavin Park (120), Chestnut Ridge’s Justin McCoy (145), Susquehanna Township’s Edmond Ruth (152), Wyalusing’s Creighton Edsell (160), Saegertown’s Cody Mulligan (182) and Berlin Brothersvalley (285) won their first titles.

Bayless shut out Mt. Union’s Josh Boozel 5-0 and Lane beat Harrisburg Bishop McDevitt’s Chase Shields 4-0. Park edged Benton’s Cole Rhone 4-3 and McCoy hit a late move to overpower Harrisburg Bishop McDevitt’s John Pipa 5-4. Ruth used an overtime takedown to beat Ligonier Valley’s Robby Patrick 3-1. Edsell beat Northern Lehigh’s Ryan Farber 5-1, Mulligan overpowered Beth-Center’s Dominic Fundy 6-0 and Cahill pinned Tri-Valley’s Dan Scheib in 2:55.

Reynolds won the team title with 136.5 points with Harrisburg Bishop McDevitt (88.5) and Bishop McCort (73.5) rounding out the Top 3.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide