- Associated Press - Monday, May 22, 2017

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - President Donald Trump has approved disaster assistance to governments and certain nonprofits in nine Mississippi counties following April 30’s tornado and weather damage.

Counties approved are Adams, Calhoun, Carroll, Claiborne, Holmes, Jefferson, Montgomery, Webster and Yazoo. The Federal Emergency Management Agency will help governments pay for debris cleanup, repairs to damaged public property and overtime for emergency workers. Electric cooperatives and are also eligible for aid.

The federal government is still considering Mississippi’s request to provide assistance to individuals in Holmes and Montgomery counties. More counties could be named later, depending on damage assessments.

Mississippi was also approved statewide for aid to help reduce future risks to people and property.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide