- Associated Press - Thursday, May 25, 2017

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch is announcing six Indiana towns and cities chosen this year for the Stellar Communities Designation Program.

Greensburg, Madison and Vincennes are finalists in the division for communities with populations of 50,000 or less. Churubusco, Culver and Union City were chosen among communities with populations of 5,999 or less.

The program recognizes municipal efforts to plan ahead and make civic improvements and awards $10,000 planning grants to first time-finalists. Those that have made the cut before receive $5,000 grants.

The grants are to assist with economic development and quality-of-life improvement efforts.

One community from each division will later be selected as a Stellar Community and will work with state officials to enact their plans.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide