- Associated Press - Friday, May 26, 2017

MANTEO, N.C. (AP) - Officials in a coastal North Carolina county have limited the amount of time that dogs can be tethered without a break.

The Virginian-Pilot of Norfolk reported (https://bit.ly/2rY28M1) dogs in Dare County can be tethered now for no more than three hours a day.

A first offense could bring a $100 fine. A second offense could draw a $500 fine and confiscation of the dog.

Erica Geppi is the director of the Humane Society of the United States in North Carolina. She said in an email that more than 20 North Carolina counties have passed stricter tether laws.

The ordinance approved earlier this month exempts owners who tether dogs temporarily for such activities as hunting or law-enforcement training. It requires that tethered dogs have access to food, water and shelter.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide