- Associated Press - Saturday, September 16, 2017

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. (AP) - Nominations are being accepted for the 2018 Florida Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing.

The Florida Humanities Council is taking nominations through Dec. 15. The annual award recognizes a living Florida author for a body of work deemed distinguished and influential in the lives of Floridians. The work may be academic, literary, poetic, journalistic or a combination of those categories.

Publishers, agents, book sellers, colleagues or friends familiar with the writer’s accomplishments and influence may submit nominations. Past nominees are automatically included for consideration. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Evangelist Franklin Graham calls impeachment hearing 'a day of shame for America'
Franklin Graham calls on nation to pray for Trump as impeachment effort gains speed
Student says teacher yanked 'Women for Trump' pin off chest, files police report: 'It's not OK'

The award recipient is selected by an independent panel and will be announced in April.

Previous winners include Patrick Smith, Carl Hiaasen, Enid Shomer, Janet Burroway, Gary Mormino and Edna Buchanan.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide