- Associated Press - Saturday, September 23, 2017

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) - A former Chicago Bear, a 16-year-old musician and a co-founder of YouTube are among this year’s recipients of Illinois’ Order of Lincoln Award.

Gov. Bruce Rauner announced the list of eight winners earlier this month. The award is considered the state’s highest honor for professional achievement and public service. The awards will be presented May 5 at an event in Rockford.

This year’s honorees include former Chicago Bear Dick Butkus, YouTube chief technology officer Steven Chen and Ariel Investments President Mellody Hobson. Young musician Emily Bear of Rockford is on the list along with Loyola University Chancellor the Rev. Michael Garanzini and Purina Mills CEO Edward McMillan.

Navy to name aircraft carrier for Pearl Harbor hero Dorie Miller
'We don't have a left party in the U.S.': AOC deems Democrats 'center or center-conservative'
Supreme Court won't fast-track Obamacare case

Diabetes expert Dr. Louis Philipson and Bergstrom Inc. Chairman David Rydell also will be honored.

There’ve been 340 Lincoln laureates over 54 years.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide