- The Washington Times - Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Coming to a time zone near you: the 2018 Navy Midshipmen football team.

The American Athletic Conference released its 2018 football schedule Tuesday morning. Navy will play eight games at opponents’ fields or neutral sites, not counting a potential appearance in the conference championship game.

Thanks to a season opener at Hawaii and a date with Notre Dame in San Diego, Navy will play at least one game in five different time zones: Hawaii-Aleutian, Pacific, Mountain, Central and Eastern.

The Mids will travel 26,496 miles in 2018, second only to Hawaii among all Division I FBS schools, according to Navy sports information director Scott Strasemeier.

By and large, these road games take the team to major metropolitan areas. Navy fans in Honolulu, Dallas, San Diego, Cincinnati, Orlando, New Orleans and Philadelphia are in luck.

Meanwhile, Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Maryland will host just five Navy games in the fall, against Lehigh and AAC opponents Memphis, Temple, Houston and Tulsa.

The dates in Hawaii and San Diego are not as random as they might first appear. Mids coach Ken Niumatalolo was born and raised in the state and played quarterback for the Rainbow Warriors, taking them to their first bowl appearance. Navy hosted Hawaii in on the mainland in 2013 and lost by a touchdown.

The Navy-Notre Dame rivalry has been played in locations around the country during even-numbered years when it’s the Mids’ turn to host. It’s even gone to Dublin, Ireland, twice. But this will be the first time the teams play each other in San Diego, the site of a large U.S. Naval Base.

They’ll play at SDCCU Stadium, formerly Qualcomm Stadium, once the home of the NFL’s Chargers.

The schedule includes one three-game road trip, and five of the Mids’ last six regular-season games, including the Army-Navy game in Philadelphia, are away from home.

See the full schedule below:

2018 Navy Football Schedule

Saturday, Sept. 1 at Hawaii
Saturday, Sept. 8 vs. Memphis*
Saturday, Sept. 15 vs. Lehigh
Saturday, Sept. 22 at SMU*
Saturday, Oct. 6 at Air Force
Saturday, Oct. 13 vs. Temple*
Saturday, Oct. 20 vs. Houston* (Homecoming)
Saturday, Oct. 27 vs. Notre Dame at SDCCU Stadium, San Diego
Saturday, Nov. 3 at Cincinnati*
Saturday, Nov. 10 at UCF*
Saturday, Nov. 17 vs. Tulsa*
Saturday, Nov. 24 at Tulane*
Saturday, Dec. 1 vs. AAC Championship Game
Saturday, Dec. 8 vs. Army at Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia
 
*AAC Conference Game


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide