- Associated Press - Thursday, January 11, 2018

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - A Vicksburg Republican is the new leader of one of the top committees in the Mississippi Senate.

Briggs Hopson was named Thursday as chairman of the Judiciary A Committee. The former chairman, Republican Sean Tindell of Gulfport, left the Senate to become a judge.

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves also announced that Republican Sally Doty of Brookhaven replaces Hopson as leader of the Energy Committee, and Republican Kevin Blackwell of Southaven replaces Doty as leader of the Elections Committee.

Republican Mike Seymour of Vancleave is the new chairman of the Executive Contingent Fund. He replaces Democrat Bill Stone of Holly Springs, who left the Senate to take a city job.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide