- Associated Press - Friday, March 2, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Gov. Eric Holcomb has added four more Indiana counties to the state’s disaster emergency following widespread flooding caused by heavy rains last month.

Holcomb on Friday added Jackson, Kosciusko, Newton and Porter counties, bringing to 26 the number of counties included. They’re now eligible for expanded state emergency services.

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security said Friday that state and local officials have begun assessing damages to buildings in areas where floodwaters have receded enough to allow for safe building inspections.

The state will open three one-stop assistance centers next week in northern Indiana, in Elkhart, Lake Station and Demotte. Volunteer organizations will be available for people needing food, water and other essentials.

Also, the state Insurance Department directed insurers Friday to implement a 60-day cancellation moratorium for affected policyholders.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide