- Associated Press - Monday, March 26, 2018

The 2018 Associated Press Class D girls basketball All-State team as selected by a panel of 10 Michigan sportswriters.

Player of the Year

Bree Salenbien, Adrian Lenawee Christian, Fr.


First-Team All-State

Bree Salenbien, Adrian Lenawee Christian, Fr.

Bailey Whitcomb, Bellevue, Sr.

Milly Allen, Chassell, Sr.

Taylor Opolka, Pickford, Sr.

Daelyn Merillat, Morenci, Jr.

Scout Nelson, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy, Jr.

Tiffany Senerius, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes, Sr.

Emma Johnson, Harbor Light Christian, Sr.

Mariah Pringle, Brethren, Sr.

Alex Hunter, Gaylord St. Mary’s, Jr.

Lexi Nieporth, Bellaire, Sr.

Kelsey Richards, Fruitport Calvary Christian, So.


Coach of the Year

Jamie Salenbien, Adrian Lenawee Christian


Second-Team All-State

Sophie Ruggles, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart Academy, Sr.

Taylor Fleming, Rogers City, Jr.

Mikayla Kersting, Harbor Light Christian, Sr.

Dani Salenbien, Adrian Lenawee Christian, So.

Coach of the Year

Brandi Hainault, Chassell


Honorable Mention

(Nominees receiving one or no votes from the 10-member panel)

Kaytlyn Tidey, Lawrence; Faith Guritz, Martin; Jaiden Hurst, Athens; Sydney Danison, Chassell; Kianne Wendt, Munising; Sydney Stephens, Bay City All Saints; Carley Smith, Kingston; Lily Lyons, Kingston; Jillyan Dinsmore, Kingston; Caitlyn Bruff, New Lothrop; Kayla Sanders, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes; Isabelle Kline, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes; Katie Coyne, Portland St. Pat’s; Sarah Voss, Lansing Christian; Lyndsey Ryba, Hillman; Averi Bebble, Gaylord St. Mary’s; Elasia Craig, Wyoming Tri-unity Christian.


Coach of the Year

Matt Mattson, Munising


Voting panel: David Bossick, Ludington Daily News; Bill Broderick, Battle Creek Enquirer; Brian Calloway, Lansing State Journal; David Goricki, The Detroit News; Drew Ellis, The Oakland Press (Pontiac); Brendan Savage, MLive-Flint; Tony Garcia, MLive-Jackson; Fred; Chris Zadorozny, Holland Sentinel, Doug Donnelly, Adrian Daily Telegram; Fred Kelly, Midland Daily News.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide