- Associated Press - Tuesday, March 27, 2018

NEW YORK (AP) - Staff writers for The Washington Post and BuzzFeed News won awards on Tuesday for investigative nonfiction books.

The Post’s Amy Goldstein won the $10,000 J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize for her portrait of a Wisconsin community and the residence of Republican House Speaker Paul Ryan, “Janesville: An American Story.”

For the first time, judges handed out two Lukas Work-in-Progress Awards, each worth $25,000. BuzzFeed’s Chris Hamby won for “Soul Full of Coal Dust: The True Story of an Epic Battle for Justice” and author and journalist Rachel Louise Snyder won for a book on domestic violence, “No Visible Bruises.”

Established in 1998, the Lukas prizes are named for the late author and investigative journalist and are administered by the Columbia Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard.

Previous winners include Jane Mayer, Andrew Solomon and Jeffrey Toobin.

Also Tuesday, Princeton University professor Stephen Kotkin won the $10,000 Mark Lynton History Prize for “Stalin: Waiting for Hitler, 1929-1941.” The award is underwritten by the family of Lynton, a refugee from Nazi Germany who became an automobile executive. He died in 1997.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide