- Associated Press - Sunday, November 18, 2018

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi election officials have certified that two special races for the state House of Representatives are headed to runoffs.

Voting is Nov. 27, and winners will fill the final year of a four-year term.

One runoff is in District 31 in parts of Bolivar, Humphreys, Sunflower and Washington counties.

Otis L. Anthony and Barbara Rose Brooks emerged from a group of eight candidates Nov. 6. The runoff winner will succeed Democrat Sarah Richardson Thomas of Indianola, who served 21 years and resigned June 30.

The other runoff is in District 85 in parts of Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson and Warren counties.

JoAnn Collins-Smith and Jeffery Harness emerged from a group of four candidates. The winner will succeed Democrat America “Chuck” Middleton, who was elected in 1995 and resigned in late August.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide