- Associated Press - Monday, April 1, 2019

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Louisiana voters chose three new state House members in weekend special elections, with Democrats holding onto two seats and Republicans losing one to an independent candidate.

Democrat Pat Moore, a police juror in Ouachita Parish, won the Monroe-based 17th District seat previously held by Democrat Marcus Hunter, who won a judgeship last year.

Democrat Jeremy LaCombe, a New Roads attorney, won a runoff election for the 18th District seat representing the Pointe Coupee area. The seat was vacated when Major Thibaut, a Democrat, was elected parish president.

Businessman Roy Daryl Adams, a registered independent, took the seat previously held by Republican Kenny Havard in the 62nd District representing a rural area north of Baton Rouge. Havard was elected president of West Feliciana Parish.

The Saturday elections had low turnout.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide