- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 24, 2019

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - President Donald Trump is issuing a federal disaster declaration authorizing aid to seven Mississippi counties following storms and flooding in February and March.

Governments and certain nonprofit groups are eligible to be repaid for infrastructure damage, debris removal and overtime pay to emergency workers. The declaration applies to Calhoun, Chickasaw, Clay, Grenada, Lowndes, Pontotoc and Tishomingo counties.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency said Tuesday that assistance to individuals could be added later.

MEMA Executive Director Greg Michel says he anticipates more counties becoming eligible later. Michel says the state wants the Federal Emergency Management Agency to assess damages in 13 more counties.

Mississippi is also approved statewide for aid to reduce or eliminate long-term natural hazard risks.

Trump approved a February disaster declaration for December floods in 10 Mississippi counties.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide