- Associated Press - Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence headlines The Associated Press preseason All-America team, and he has two teammates from the top-ranked Tigers with him on the first team.

Lawrence, the first freshman to quarterback to lead a team to a national championship in more than 30 years, was joined on the first-team offense by Clemson running back Travis Etienne in the list released Tuesday and presented by Regions Bank . Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons was a first-team selection on defense. Clemson and No. 2 Alabama tied for the most first-team selections with three.

Wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, an All-American last season, was selected to the preseason first team, along with defensive lineman Raekwon Davis and linebacker Dylan Moses.

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, the Heisman Trophy runner-up, was selected to the second team.

Led by Alabama, the Southeastern Conference placed eight players on the first team, one more than the Big Ten.

The AP All-America team is sponsored by Regions Bank this season, the first time the venerable player honor roll that dates to 1925 has ever had a presenting sponsor.



Quarterback - Trevor Lawrence, sophomore, Clemson.

Running back - Jonathan Taylor, junior, Wisconsin; Travis Etienne, junior, Clemson.

Tackles - Andrew Thomas, junior, Georgia; Walker Little, junior, Stanford.

Guards - Shane Lemieux, senior, Oregon; Ben Bredeson, senior, Michigan.

Center - Tyler Biadasz, junior, Wisconsin.

Tight end - Albert Okwuegbunam, junior, Missouri.

Wide receivers - Jerry Jeudy, junior, Alabama; Tylan Wallace, junior, Oklahoma State.

All-purpose player - Rondale Moore, sophomore, Purdue.

Kicker - Andre Szmyt, sophomore, Syracuse.


Ends - Chase Young, junior, Ohio State; A.J. Epenesa, junior, Iowa.

Tackles - Derrick Brown, senior, Auburn; Raekwon Davis, senior, Alabama.

Linebackers - Dylan Moses, junior, Alabama; Isaiah Simmons, junior, Clemson; Joe Bachie, senior, Michigan State.

Cornerbacks - Bryce Hall, senior, Virginia; Paulson Adebo, junior, Stanford.

Safeties - Grant Delpit, junior, LSU; Andre Cisco, sophomore, Syracuse.

Punter - Braden Mann, senior, Texas A&M.



Quarterback - Tua Tagovailoa, junior, Alabama.

Running backs - D’Andre Swift, junior, Georgia; Eno Benjamin, junior, Arizona State.

Tackles - Trey Adams, senior, Washington; Calvin Throckmorton, senior, Oregon.

Guards - Tommy Kraemer, senior, Notre Dame; John Simpson, senior, Clemson.

Center - Nick Harris, senior, Washington.

Tight end - Jared Pinkney, senior, Vanderbilt.

Wide receivers - Laviska Shenault Jr., junior, Colorado; Justyn Ross, sophomore, Clemson.

All-purpose player - CeeDee Lamb, junior, Oklahoma.

Kicker - Rodrigo Blankenship, senior, Georgia.


Ends - Kenny Willekes, senior, Michigan State; Julian Okwara, senior, Notre Dame.

Tackles - Leki Fotu, senior, Utah; Marvin Wilson, junior, Florida State.

Linebackers - Paddy Fisher, junior, Northwestern; Evan Weaver, senior, California; Shaquille Quarterman, senior, Miami.

Cornerbacks - Kristian Fulton, senior, LSU; CJ Henderson, junior, Florida.

Safeties - Alohi Gilman, senior, Notre Dame; Jordan Fuller, senior, Ohio State.

Punter - James Smith, junior, Cincinnati.


Follow Ralph D. Russo at https://twitter.com/ralphDrussoAP and listen at https://podcastone.com/AP-Top-25-College-Football-Podcast


More AP college football: https://apnews.com/Collegefootball and https://twitter.com/AP_Top25

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide