- Associated Press - Saturday, August 24, 2019

PEARL, Miss. (AP) - Four more counties in Mississippi have become eligible for public assistance for debris removal, road repairs and other storm recovery projects.

State and federal officials announced Friday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has added Issaquena, Sharkey, Warren and Yazoo counties to a disaster declaration. The action came in response to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that happened in Mississippi in late February.

The addition of the four counties brings the total receiving federal assistance to 29. Others already covered are Alcorn, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Clay, Coahoma, Grenada, Humphreys, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Montgomery, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tishomingo, Union, Washington, Webster and Yalobusha.

The state awaits word on whether individual assistance will become available to Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Warren and Yazoo counties.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide