- Associated Press - Monday, December 16, 2019

NEW YORK (AP) - Oregon State quarterback Jake Luton, Minnesota defensive back Antoine Winfield Jr., and Kentucky linebacker Josh Paschal are among the major college football finalists for the Comeback Player of the Year award.

The other finalists in FBS are Georgia Southern offensive lineman Drew Wilson and Notre Dame cornerback Shaun Crawford.

The winner of the Comeback Player of the Year, which is sponsored by the Mayo Clinic, is determined by a vote of AP college football poll voters, along with input from sports information directors. It will be announced Thursday. There will also be a winner chosen among non-Division I players.

Winners will be honored at the Fiesta Bowl between No. 2 Ohio State and No. 3 Clemson in Glendale, Arizona on Dec. 28.

Luton and Winfield have both had multiple seasons interrupted or ended early by injuries. Winfield has bounced back to be an All-American and help the Gophers to a 10-2 season. Luton threw 28 touchdown passes and only three interceptions this season for Oregon State.

Paschal is a cancer survivor who missed most of last season but returned at full strength this year after finishing treatments in the offseason.


Follow Ralph D. Russo at https://twitter.com/ralphDrussoAP and listen http://www.westwoodonepodcasts.com/pods/ap-top-25-college-football-podcast/


More AP college football: https://apnews.com/APTop25CollegeFootballPoll and https://apnews.com/Collegefootball and https://twitter.com/AP_Top25

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide