- The Washington Times - Sunday, December 29, 2019

The NFL playoff picture is finally set.

The San Francisco 49ers held on through a wild finish for a 26-21 win over the Seattle Seahawks, clinching not only the NFC West crown but also the No. 1 seed in the NFC. Meanwhile, the Philadelphia Eagles improved to 9-7 with a win over the New York Giants to best the Dallas Cowboys in the race for the NFC East title.

Earlier in the day, the Tennessee Titans won their final game of the regular season 35-14 over the Houston Texans, finishing the year 9-7 and earning the final wild card berth in the AFC.

The rest of the AFC’s seeds were sorted out when the Kansas City Chiefs beat the Los Angeles Chargers and the Miami Dolphins upset the New England Patriots.

Those results combined to give Kansas City the No. 2 seed and a first-round bye in the playoffs, which begin next weekend.

Here’s the complete playoff bracket and the schedule for Wild Card Weekend:

AFC seeds

1. Baltimore Ravens (14-2)

2. Kansas City Chiefs (12-4, head-to-head tiebreaker over Patriots)

3. New England Patriots (12-4)

4. Houston Texans (10-6)

5. Buffalo Bills (10-6)

6. Tennessee Titans (9-7)

Wild Card Weekend games:

No. 5 Buffalo at No. 4 Houston, Saturday, Jan. 4, 4:35 p.m., ESPN/ABC

No. 6 Tennessee at No. 3 New England, Saturday, Jan. 4, 8:15 p.m., CBS

Byes: Ravens, Chiefs

NFC seeds

1. San Francisco 49ers (13-3)

2. Green Bay Packers (13-3)

3. New Orleans Saints (13-3)

4. Philadelphia Eagles (9-7)

5. Seattle Seahawks (11-5)

6. Minnesota Vikings (10-6) 

Wild Card Weekend games:

No. 6 Minnesota at No. 3 New Orleans, Sunday, Jan. 5, 1:05 p.m., Fox

No. 5 Seattle at No. 4 Philadelphia, Sunday, Jan. 5, 4:40 p.m., NBC

Byes: 49ers, Packers

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide