- Associated Press - Wednesday, March 13, 2019

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Two people have won special elections to the Mississippi House. A third election is headed to a runoff.

The Greenwood Commonwealth reports Solomon Osborne defeated Troy Brown Sr. on Tuesday in District 32 in Leflore County. Osborne will succeed former Rep. Willie Perkins, who is now a chancery judge.

WAPT-TV reports Ronnie Crudup Jr. defeated Edelia J. Carthan and Stephanie Skipper in District 71 in Hinds County. Crudup will succeed former Rep. Adrienne Wooten, who is now a circuit judge.

An April 2 runoff will be needed in House District 101 in Lamar County. News outlets report Kent McCarty and Steven Utroska advanced from a field of five candidates. The winner will succeed former Rep. Brad Touchstone, who is now a Lamar County Judge.

The current terms end in January.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide