- Associated Press - Saturday, May 18, 2019

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee has filed an appeal after the federal government denied his request for individual aid for residents in five counties battered by flooding and severe storms.

A news release from the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency says the counties that were denied the individual assistance for storm damage in February and March are Decatur, Hardin, Humphreys, Perry and Sevier.

Last month, the Federal Emergency Management Agency denied Lee’s request to make the federal aid available to help impacted residents in those counties cover certain expenses.

Currently, 59 counties are already eligible for the federal public assistance program, which helps governments recoup the costs of responding to the floods.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide