- Associated Press - Thursday, May 23, 2019

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Four more Mississippi counties have been approved for federal aid to recover from severe weather.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency says Thursday that Coahoma, Leflore, Sunflower and Washington counties are being added to a list of 20 other counties.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved assistance in response to storms that struck Feb. 22-24, bringing tornadoes and flooding.

The counties previously approved for recovery aid Alcorn, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Clay, Grenada, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Lowndes, Montgomery, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tishomingo, Union, Webster and Yalobusha.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide