Continued from page 1

Two senators who voted for debit-interchange price controls in 2010, Republicans David Vitter of Louisiana and Michael D. Crapo of Idaho now oppose them. Urging consumers to call their congressmen would spur more to switch.

Five other senators who voted for the Durbin Amendment are not in the 112th Congress, thanks to vote results and retirement. All were replaced by free-market Republicans.

Other than plucky TCF Financial, banks didn’t try to engage consumers in lobbying Congress during debate over the legislation. Goliath banks were AWOL then but they cannot afford to be so again.

The time to fight for free markets in consumer financial services is now, before the CFPB and debit interchange price caps take root.

Eric Grover is a principal at Intrepid Ventures.