Continued from page 2

GWAA AWARDS: Former USGA executive director David Fay has been selected to receive the William D. Richardson Award from the Golf Writers Association of America, which goes to individuals who have consistently made contributions to golf.

Fay spent 32 years at the USGA, the last 21 as the executive director. He is one of the foremost authorities on the Rules of Golf and was in the broadcast booth during the U.S. Open with his wit and bow tie. Fay also was a proponent of making golf more accessible to the public. He was behind the U.S. Open going to public courses (Bethpage Black, Torrey Pines), and years ago he resigned his membership at all-male Pine Valley when the single-gender courses became a flashpoint for criticism.

The GWAA also voted LPGA star Laura Davies of England for its Jim Murray Award, given to tour players for their relationship and cooperation with the media.

The Ben Hogan Award, given to those who remain active in golf despite a physical handicap or serious illness, went to blind golfer David Meador, who is a three-time National Blind Golf Championship winner. Meador was a freshman at Southern Illinois in 1966 when he lost his eyesight. He is the third blind golfer to win the Hogan Award.

They will join the GWAA players of the year _ Rory McIlroy, Stacy Lewis and Roger Chapman _ in being honored at the GWAA Awards Dinner April 10 in Augusta, Ga.


DIVOTS: International Sports Management is backing a new tournament for The Big Easy Tour, a feeder program for the Sunshine Tour in South Africa. Chubby Chandler is the head of ISM, whose stable includes South African stars like Charl Schwartzel, Louis Oosthuizen and Branden Grace … The Tournament of Champions had eight of the top 20 players in the world ranking. But only two of those players _ Webb Simpson and Keegan Bradley _ signed up for the Sony Open next week in Honolulu. … Jimmy Roberts, a 13-time Emmy winner with NBC Sports, is starting a monthly series of stories to be called, “In Play With Jimmy Roberts.”


STAT OF THE WEEK: The previous three winners of the season-opening Tournament of Champions _ Steve Stricker, Jonathan Byrd and Geoff Ogilvy _ did not win another PGA Tour event the rest of the year.


FINAL WORD: “Johnny Miller might think I’ve well overachieved. But in my eyes I’ve underachieved. I don’t think I’ve done enough.” _ Ian Poulter.